Kannik’s Korner Accessories Pattern

Part 2: Nightcap Pattern Review

The nightcap in this pattern is so different than the Ebeneezer Scrooge style of nightcap that I thought I should give it a try. This style appears in illustrations, such as Hogarth’s morning levee, where the only the rake is wearing one.

This cap is a tube with 2 drawstrings. The top is drawn tight, except for laundering. The bottom drawstring is tied at the back of the head, and the bottom few inches of the cap are flipped up, like a brim.

Somewhat loose, very floppy.

Too large and reminds me somehow of Mother Goose.

Hogarth was an artist and social critic (Wikipedia calls him a “pictorial satirist,” a term which is needlessly specific and quite accurate). His depictions are not flattering and are not meant to be flattering.

I don’t find this hat flattering, myself. Firstly, I think we should have turned up more of the brim to take up the excess fabric. Secondly, I used thin antique linen left over from Scrooge, which acts very different than new linen. New linen is often scratchy and stiff, but antique linen that has been laundered enough is extremely soft and weathered, This feels like an old, thin pillowcase. So it’s possible this cap might look better if sewn with newer or thicker linen.

It’s also possible it will look odd regardless. That’s what trying out these patterns and reviewing them is all about.

I’ll be doing neck stocks and the market wallet next. I’m also sewing some silk gowns, which are off topic for this blog. However, I may review some of the patterns because they are so obscure and out of print that there are no reviews on the web.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started