Kannik’s Korner Accessories Pattern

Apron pattern review

Kannik’s Korner sells this pattern of men’s accessories, which is great for rounding out your wardrobe. I don’t feel like making “one of everything” here, but I’ll start with the apron and stop when I lose interest, or my interest switches to something else.

It turns out the apron is very simple, just one piece with ties and a buttonhole.

I’ve chosen a heavy canvas fabric which is linen or a linen blend. Instead of folding over twice to bind the edges, which would be bulky, I’m finishing the edges with some thin linen in the same unbleached color. I use a rotary cutter to cut 1″ strips from some scrap, and stitch the strips together.

I sew the strips to the edge, fold over, iron, and stitch in place to hide all rough edges.

You see that I attached a tab of grey leather, because I hate buttonholes. I also know how linen frays easily, so I avoid buttonholes in linen especially. I hand cranked the sewing machine when sewing on the leather, and used a heavy duty needle. I punched the ends of the buttonhole with a leather punch, and cut between them with sharp scissors.

This type of apron buttons onto a shirt or vest, which will stress the button and the shirt fabric. This calls for reinforcement. I sewed a folded piece of fabric onto the shirt under the button, and stitched the button on firmly. Alternatively, you can sew your visible button to the front of the shirt, and anchor a smaller one against it on the back of the fabric. This is something you see often on vintage winter coats.

I didn’t know what to use for ties at first. The apron canvas was too heavy, and the edge finishing fabric too light. I could buy twill tape and wait for it to be shipped to me, but I might lose interest.

Then I realized I had the edges of the curtain panels from making the shirt. I had simply cut off the hemmed edges and thrown them in the scrap drawer. I took a seam ripper to the stitches, folded the rough edge in, and stitched it back up again, and had apron ties. They criss cross in back and tie in the front. Making the ties from the same fabric as the shirt really ties this outfit together.

He is terribly happy with his costume. However, the apron length was halfway between the knee and the ankle. After taking these photos, I shortened the apron to knee length (-6″) at his request because he was afraid it would trip him up.

Verdict: I am very pleased with how this turned out, however: this apron pattern still runs a bit large and more than a bit long. I cut the L/XL size, and it fits Mr Tall, who is 6’3″ and generally wears XXL.

But, I am REALLY pleased that there is a costume pattern line that includes men’s big & tall sizes. Just hold the pattern piece up to yourself and do some rough estimates of fit before cutting into your good fabric.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started